David Burnett

Men’s Cross Country Takes C-USA Title

BOCA RATON, Fla. – North Texas men's cross country claimed the team title at the Conference USA Air Force Reserve Cross Country Championships with three Mean Green earning All-Conference honors Saturday at the Burt Aaronson South County Regional Park hosted by Florida Atlantic.
"Everything lined up and the guys hit a home run today," Head Coach Kevin Williams said. "This team didn't run to get second today. From the gun they went out hard and established position."
Florian Lussy was the top placer for the men with a third-place finish in a time of 24:16.30 for First Team All-Conference accolades. His time in the 8k ranks him sixth all-time in program history, surpassing Mike Lowe's performance in 2015. 
"We knew we had a chance to win the title but only if all of us performed at our best," explained Lussy. "As much as we knew it would be tough, we just really wanted this and believed in our chances."
Tim Jones ran a personal best time of 24:26.26 for fourth place and first team honors, while Jack Beaumont also received a spot on the first team with his seventh place finish in 24:30.62.
"Tim Jones gets the race of the day. He set a personal best by over a minute," said Williams. "He's had a challenging year, but to see him step up like that was something special."
Rea Iseli placed seventh for the women to achieve First Team All-Conference honors with a time of 17:15.94. Iseli's impressive race was the second-best 5k clocked in UNT history, surpassing Susannah Lynch's run in 2016.
"Rea had an outstanding performance," said Williams. "The women competed really hard. The conference on the women's side is extremely deep right now, but we held our own. The freshmen ran a very smart race as each had personal best times (Aubrey Schmidt and Tatum Shelton)."
This is the men's second C-USA championship with the first occurring in 2014, and is the 12thoverall team title dating to 1932. The 43 points scored outdoes the 50 put up in the 2014 team race. Coach Williams was named C-USA Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year in his second season leading the Mean Green.
Second Team All-Conference nods went to Andrew Cobos in 12thplace with a time of 24:54.60, and Alec Esposito finished 17that 25:17.46. Alex Cleveland (22nd; 25:36.90), Matthew Morgan (27th; 25:58.19), and Caleb Bouchard (42nd; 26:39.58) rounded out the Mean Green men.
The women finished in seventh place overall with 172 points, as UTEP won the title with a total of 44. Cassidy Adams came in 33rdat 18:32.34 for UNT, Schmidt was 35thby clocking in at 18:35.02, and Shelton followed in 36that 18:37.24. Jennifer White (65th; 19:32.01), Kacie Mayberry (21:00.20; 88th), and Darrian Johnson (21:02.00; 89th) completed the UNT squad.
"It feels amazing to be part of a championship team," exclaimed Lussy. "I will never forget the moment as we realized that we actually won. We are eight friends running together every morning. It's insane to share such a title together."
Head Coach, Kevin Williams Post Race Comments

Print Friendly Version

Related Stories

Related Videos