Men's Basketball

Roosevelt Smart Earns C-USA Second Team All-Conference

March 5, 2018

C-USA Release

IRVING - Sophomore guard Roosevelt Smart finished fourth in Conference USA in scoring at 18.8 points per game and was selected second team All-Conference USA by the league's coaches and media on Monday.

Smart is having one of the finest seasons in North Texas history after setting a new school record with 109 three-pointers made and is top-10 nationally in two categories. Smart is seventh in the nation in three-pointers per game and three-pointers made.

Smart also was second in the C-USA in free throw percentage at 88 percent, which is the second best mark in school history. Smart went 125-for-142 from the charity stripe.

The Chicago, Illinois native, leads the team with 12 20-point games, two 30-point games and a 42-point performance in a road game at Rice on Jan. 13. His 42 points at Rice was the fifth-most in school history that included a school-record 10 three-pointers.

Smart has loved the big stage this season breaking the school record for three-pointers by hitting seven from downtown against C-USA regular season champion Middle Tennessee. Smart made his presence felt in the first seven C-USA league games averaging 22.9 points per game and hit 33 three-pointers.

Smart enters the C-USA Championships just 16 points away from 600 total points, which would be just the eighth North Texas student-athlete to accomplish such feat.

The Mean Green will open the 2018 C-USA Tournament in Frisco as the No. 7 seed and will take on No. 10 LA Tech on Wednesday, March 7, at 8:30 p.m. on court A. The matchup can be seen on Facebook live.

2017-18 Conference USA All-Conference Teams
First Team
Jon Elmore, Marshall
Nick King, Middle Tennessee
Ahmad Caver, Old Dominion
Chris Cokley, UAB
Justin Johnson, WKU

Second Team
C.J. Burks, Marshall
Giddy Potts, Middle Tennessee
Roosevelt Smart, North Texas
Jhivvan Jackson, UTSA
Darius Thompson, WKU

Third Team
Brian Beard Jr., FIU
Ronald Delph, Florida Atlantic
Jacobi Boykins, Louisiana Tech
Adjin Penava, Marshall
B.J. Stith, Old Dominion

North Texas All-Conference Awards
Sun Belt Conference
2001-02 Chris Davis, First Team
2002-03 Chris Davis, First Team
2003-04 Leonard Hopkins, Second Team, Shawnson Johnson, Third Team
2004-05 Leonard Hopkins, Second Team
2005-06 Kendrick Davis, Second Team
2006-07 Calvin Watson, Third Team
2007-08 Collin Dennis, Second Team, Josh White, Second Team
2008-09 Eric Tramiel, Third Team
2009-10 George Odufuwa, Second Team, Eric Tramiel, Third Team
Josh White, Third Team, Tristan Thompson, Third Team
2010-11 Tristan Thompson, First Team
2011-12 Tony Mitchell, First Team
2012-13 Tony Mitchell, Second Team

Conference USA
2014-15 Jordan Williams, Second Team
2015-16 Jeremy Combs, Second Team
2017-18 Roosevelt Smart, Second Team

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned