Men's Golf

Rosenmueller Leads Way To Open C-USA Tourney

April 22, 2018

TEXARKANA, Ark. — Midway through the opening round of the Conference USA Championship on Sunday at Texarkana Country Club, it seemed top-seed UNT was digging itself quite a hole.

By the time the first of three 18-hole days was complete, the Mean Green were back near the top of the leaderboard, in fifth place after posting an 11-over par 299.

UNT was led by junior Thomas Rosenmueller, who shot a 1-over par 73 to put himself in a tie for seventh place on the individual leaderboard. He was followed by junior Jordan Sanders' 2-over 74. UNT's No. 1 player, Ian Snyman, the country's 64th ranked player, shot a 4-over 76.

"It was a slow start for us today, but the guys know they are capable of posting low scores the last two rounds," UNT coach Brad Stracke said.

The top four teams after the three-day stroke play event will advance to the match-play round on Wednesday with the winner of the four-team tournament claiming the conference title and the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament.

UAB has a comfortable lead after the opening round after shooting even-par 288 — eight shots up on second-place UT-San Antonio and nine up on Middle Tennessee State and UTEP, who are tied for third and two strokes up on UNT.

UNT will be partnered with UTEP for the second round on Monday and will tee off at 8:40 a.m.

Live scoring for the tournament can be found here.

Follow along with Mean Green Men's Golf on social media throughout the year. Get program updates on Twitter @MeanGreenGolf, or look for updates and photos on Facebook. Fans can also go to for the latest news and notes on the men's golf program.

Team Leaderboard

1. UAB (E)

2. UT-San Antonio (+8)

T3. Middle Tennessee State (+9)

T3. UTEP (+9)

5. North Texas (+11)

6. Old Dominion (+12)

7. Charlotte (+14)

T8. Southern Mississippi (+15)

Rice (+15)

10. Western Kentucky (+16)

11. Marshall (+22)

12. Florida Atlantic (+26)

13. Louisiana Tech (+27)

Player Leaderboard

T7. Thomas Rosenmueller (+1)

T14. Jordan Sanders (+2)

T29. Ian Snyman (+4)

T29. Viktor Forslund (+4)

T46. Vitek Novak (+6)

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned